- The Short Fiction Prize -

First Prize: £500 + publication    Second prize: £100

Open for entries January 1st – March 31st  2015

Entry fee:   £10 – submit up to 2 stories and receive a free 09 readercopy of our next issue (worth £10)

                       £6 – submit 1 story

Stories must be no longer than 6,000 words and must be unpublished in print or online. Entries will also be considered for general publication. Stories may be in any theme/genre and you can submit as many times as you like. Online entries only. After making your payment via the PayPal buttons below, please submit your entries to with ‘Competition Entry’ in the subject box. You can also enter using a credit/debit card with these buttons. Stories will be read anonymously up to the longlist stage, which will be announced in June, the shortlist in July. The winner and runner-up will be announced in August. Please read our competition rules here before entering. Good luck!

Buy Now Button £10 – submit up to two stories + receive free copy of Issue 9

Buy Now Button £6 – submit one story

The Judges 

AM 01

Alison MacLeod is the author of three novels, including the 2013 Man-Booker long-listed novel Unexploded, and the short fiction collection Fifteen Modern Tales of Attraction.  Her stories have been widely published, broadcast, anthologized and nominated for awards such as The BBC National Short Story Award and The Sunday Times EFG International Short Story Award.  Her next short story collection and novel will be published by Bloomsbury.  She is Professor of Contemporary Fiction at the University of Chichester.



Anthony Caleshu is the author of two books of poetry and a novella. His poems and stories have appeared widely in journals and newspapers on both sides of the Atlantic, including the Times Literary Supplement, Poetry Review, Poetry Ireland Review, The Dublin Review, American Literary Review, and Agni Online. He is Professor of Poetry at Plymouth University.


Previous winners

2014   –   Graham Mort

2013   –   Rachel Fenton

2012   –   David Shames

2011   –   Louis Malloy

2010   –   Jill Widner

2009 – Peter Deadman

2008   –   Wes Lee

2007   –   Tim Love